The White Hills Remembrance Park was originally known as the Junction Cemetery. In 1854 it officially opened, however it had to be used as a remembrance park well before this date.
Once gold was discovered at the seven White Hills, the area was inundated with optimistic diggers. Locals within the White Hills area, including the Chinese from the Chinese settlement then claimed the site as a remembrance park to bury their dead. The initial burials took place without registration, therefore the first person buried at the White Hills Remembrance Park is not known. The earliest recognised grave at present is that of Gustave Alphonse Eugere Vazie who died in November 1853, aged 19 months.
Features at the White Hills Remembrance Park include; the original entrance pillars and gates designed by Vahland; a unique Victorian style rotunda; Chinese graves believed to be of world significance; a monument erected to the memory of Robert (Pump Handle) Benson; and the largest monument in the remembrance park – Major Robert Moorehead of the Prince of Wales Light Horse.
The White Hills Remembrance Park is regarded as significant because it is a substantially intact example of a mid nineteenth century gold-fields remembrance park.