The Board (Trust)


 Absent: Lauren Bean


Pam Macdonald - Trust Chair

Our Chair, Pam Macdonald has significant governance, change management and commercial experience gained from a number of executive roles in the financial services sector. Having worked for a number of Australia’s blue chip companies, Pam has also worked with a major international consulting company and is proud to bring that diverse expertise together in a way that contributes to the community and a Board.

Rod Fyffe OAM - Deputy Chair

Rod Fyffe has been a councillor with the City of Greater Bendigo since 1996. In 2012, he was one of three councillors elected to represent Lockwood Ward until 2016. He served as mayor in 2003/2004, 2004/2005 and 2010/2011. Rod is a retired teacher who taught mathematics, economics, accounting, geology, industry and enterprise and classical societies at Bendigo Senior Secondary College. In 2013, he was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. Rod was a councillor with the former City of Bendigo from 1983 to 1994 and was first elected to the City of Greater Bendigo in 1996.

Lauren Bean

Lauren Bean holds a Masters degree in Communications and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is currently the CEO of Cara Inc, a non-profit community service organisation which provides residential care for vulnerable young woman who are involved in the child protection system. Prior to moving to Cara, Lauren was the Acting CEO of St Lukes Anglicare, a regional community services organisation based in Bendigo serving the Loddon Mallee areas of Victoria and into southern NSW. As well as her experience in community services, Lauren has an extensive background in the marketing and communications field. This was gained through senior management positions in the National Australia Bank and the Nine Television Network. Lauren holds various Directorships including Community 21, Community Sector Banking and Cara Inc. As the mother of two daughters, Lauren has a keen interest in community development and especially the promotion of women in leadership roles. 

Ken Belfrage

Ken has completed a qualification in Chartered Accountants and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ken is a member of RPCV's Finance Committee as well as the Audit and Risk Committee.

Brad Ead

Brad is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia, a member of the Institute of Internal Auditors, an ASIC Registered Company Auditor, an ASIC Registered Self Managed Super Fund Auditor, a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, member of the Project Management Institute and member of ISACA. Brad is a partner of AFS & Associates, a Chartered accounting firm based in Central Victoria and has over 10 years experience in accounting, audit and risk management services. Brad heads the firms internal Audit department and Outsourced Finance Manager services. 

Ian Grenfell

Before retirement Ian taught at Tafe Bendigo now known as BRIT for 25 years as a trade teacher teaching engineering. He was a councillor for 18 years at the Shire of Strathfieldsaye, and served two terms as mayor of Strathfieldsaye. Ian was a board member of the Central Victoria Group Training Australia for 32 years, and is currently a member of the Audit Committee and Risk Management Committee at Central Victoria Group Training Australia. 

Mark Gibson

Mark has worked in a number of roles for a variety of organisations in the health and community services over the past 30 years. Roles have included senior and middle HR management positions and a range of community development positions for agencies such as the Department of Justice; Latrobe Community Health Service, Relationships Australia Victoria and the Family Mediation Centre. For the past two years Mark has been employed as a Financial Counsellor with St. Lukes, a division of Anglicare Victoria. Mark has served as a Director on a variety of Boards and Committees within the Victorian health sector; with sporting clubs, animal welfare agencies and on a Ministerial Advisory Committee and is currently a Director of Bendigo Community Health Services. Mark is a member of the Parish Council of St. Paul's Anglican Cathedral, Bendigo as well as the AICD and a Justice of the Peace for Victoria. Mark has a strong interest in heritage matters and a number of his ancestors are buried in the Bendigo Remembrance Park. 

Lisa Ruffell

Cr Lisa Ruffell has been a councillor with the City of Greater Bendigo since 2008. In 2012, she was one of three councillors elected to represent Whipstick Ward until 2016. She served as mayor in 2012/2013.

Cr Lisa Ruffell is a successful businesswoman with a diverse range of qualifications and experiences. Along with her family, she owns and operates a local business, Ruffell Family Jewellers. Cr Ruffell and her husband have run the business since 1985. Cr Ruffell has been a member of numerous school, sporting, community and charitable organisations, including the Victoria Police Blue Ribbon Committee.

She was awarded the 2000 Australian Federation of Business and Professional Woman Incorporated (BPW) Bendigo Business Woman of the Year. Cr Ruffell has a keen interest in promoting women's issues and was instrumental in organising the 'Women Showing the Way' forums for young Greater Bendigo women.

Cr Ruffell serves as a Council representative on the following committees:
- Bendigo Trust
- Finance Committee
- Bendigo Stadium Limited
- Bendigo Tennis Association
- Bendigo Traders Association

Damien Tangey

Damien is the Managing Director of Birchgrove Property, a Bendigo-based business specialising in residential development. Damien is a property valuer, Licensed Agent and Graduate of the Institute of Company Directors. He currently serves as a National Councillor of the Urban Development Institute of Australia, its Vice President in Victoria and is Chair of the UDIA’s Northern Victorian Chapter. Damien resides in Bendigo with his wife and three children and is a committed member of the Bendigo community, also serving on a number of local committees.